top of page

This is a 2-day State approved Concealed Handgun Permit course.  Once completed, the student can apply for a State of Alaska Concealed Handgun Permit.  The benefits of obtaining a permit include reciprocity with 38 other states and NICS Exemption (quickly purchase firearms). 


**MINIMUM REQUIREMENTS:  21 years of age, not a convicted felon or convicted of a DV crime**


This course introduces the student to Alaska Law regarding the justifiable use of force in defense of self, others and property.  We cover the legal issues, interacting with law enforcement, mental preparation, mindset, gear, shoot/no shoot scenarios, as well as proper care, storage & use of a handgun.  We focus on safe gun handling skills and techniques that are derived from the top practical shooters, law enforcement agencies and specialized teams in the country.  We will be conducting a modified Defensive Practical Handgun class during the last part of day 2.   Techniques include an efficient presentation to a durable grip, dry-practice tips and drills to get hits on target fast and efficiently, malfunction clearances, shooting from different positions... basically, how to run your gun.  There will be a written test and a firearms qualification as per State regulations.


**MINIMUM 250 rounds of ammunition for the class and qualification**


Location & Contact Details

Tel: 907-354-5944


Classroom: Friday May 24 5pm-9pm & May 25 10am-12pm at Church on the Rock Mile 99, S Parks Hwy, Talkeetna, AK 99676

Range: May 25 12:30pm-6:30pm at Upper Susitna Shooters Association 52645 Parks Hwy, Willow, AK 99688

May 24 & 25 Talkeetna Concealed Handgun Permit Course

  • There are no refunds issued for class tuition. A transfer of tuition to another class may be considered on a case-by-case basis.

bottom of page